A DUI conviction in the state of Florida carries with it some serious penalties. These penalties get worse with each new DUI. If you or a family member is currently facing a possible 3rd DUI conviction, there is a lot at stake. Realize right away that a third DUI conviction, in many cases, can be a felony conviction. The first thing you need to do, accordingly, is find a qualified and experienced DUI attorney to represent you. The penalties are too severe to try to face such a criminal trial on your own.
To help you prepare for what is to come, here’s a bit more on what you can expect to happen next and the process you may be able to go through to reinstate your license even after a 3rd DUI conviction.
The penalties you can expect
The penalties for a third DUI conviction in the state of Florida are very similar to the penalties for a first and second except they are naturally more severe. Like we covered above – a third conviction can be considered a felony offense. Beyond that, here’s a list of common penalties for a 3rd DUI in the state of Florida:
· Up to a year of jail time
· Fines of up to $5,000
· Suspension of Driver’s License for up to 10 years
· An ignition interlocking device may be installed for up to 2 years
· If it’s your 3rd DUI in ten years, it’s considered a felony and can have up to 5 years in prison.
· Eligibility for a Hardship License may be lost
What you can do to reinstate your license
FHSMV requires anyone with a third DUI conviction to spend a minimum of 2 years of their revocation before they can file for a hardship license. This can be filed at that time with a local Administrative Reviews office. Such Hardship Licenses are only issued for individuals who need them to get to and from work or school and cannot be used for any other purpose.
Assuming you have a qualifying reason to apply for one, you will need to complete DUI School and an alcohol treatment program prior to being issued a Hardship License. You will also need to have a recommendation from the Special Supervision Services Program and remain in this program to retain your Hardship License.
At the end of your revocation period, you may also seek to have your license reinstated. The process is very similar to obtaining a Hardship License and requires the completion of DUI School and an alcohol treatment program. There is also a reinstatement exam and various fees.
Still have questions?
Call us at 305-548-5020 for free a consultation