The penalties in the state of Florida for being convicted of driving under the influence include, but are not limited to the suspension or revoking of your driver’s license. Jail time, fines, and even an Ignition Interlock Device may be ordered by a judge as required for anyone with a DUI to regain their privilege to drive.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
Simply put, an Ignition Interlock Device is a device a court can
order to be installed on your car if you are convicted of a DUI. This device requires you to pass a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) test via your breath before you can turn the car on. Not only are these inconvenient and costly ($75 to install and again each month), they can be an embarrassment and cause issues with your ability to perform your job. Therefore, avoiding having an Ignition Interlock Device should be top priority if you receive a DUI in the state of Florida.
What if it’s my first time to get a DUI?
There really is no good news for first time DUI offenders, however, it is true that judges are far more likely to order the use of an Ignition Interlock Device on second and third-time offenders. If your BAC is higher, you are also more likely to have the device installed – and for a longer time.
Just to give you an idea, a second time DUI offender may have the court order an Ignition Interlock Device to be installed for 18 months, but if their BAC was high enough, the judge may extend that to over two years or more.
How to protect yourself against an Ignition Interlock Device
The first thing you need to do if you’ve been charged with a DUI, even if it’s the first time, to protect yourself from having a Judge order an Ignition Interlock Device be installed on your car is call a qualified and experienced DUI attorney. Don’t wait, don’t try to fight the charges on your own. As soon as possible–get your attorney involved.
Still have questions? Please call us for a free appointment with Miami business attorney Yoel Molina in our Miami office at 305-548-5020.